Vimy Visitor Education Centre

Entrance: Vimy Visitor Education Centre
Entrance: Vimy Visitor Education Centre

While the Vimy monument itself is of course stunningly beautiful, visitors were given little context at the previous information booth as to why Canadians fought and died there; why Vimy remains special to the Canadian soul; and how Vimy, and other First World War battles at which Canadians fought, forever altered Canada’s status on the world stage. The Vimy Visitor Education Centre located adjacent the Vimy Monument, inaugurated at the Vimy Centennial Celebrations in April 2017 will answer these questions.

The Vimy Visitor Education Centre is a project in partnership with Veteran Affairs Canada ($5 million was committed by the Government of Canada in 2013).






For photos of the grand opening of the Vimy Visitor Education Centre click here.

For photos of the construction of the Vimy Visitor Education Centre click here.





The George and Helen Vari Foundation


John & Kim Carswell Family

Bell Logo





W Garfield Weston Foundation Logo




Richard Rooney

Cretier Foundation








  John & Pattie Cleghorn and Family

Cal Wenzel Family Foundation

McLean Foundation

Centennial Plaques

Centennial Plaques were sponsored by community members and groups to support the design and construction of the new Vimy Visitor Education Centre and to honour a family member, friend, veteran, or community member. These plaques will be mounted in the Visitor Education Centre in Vimy, France. Each Centennial Plaque will remain on the wall in perpetuity to be read by visitors who enter the Visitor Education Centre and demonstrate the national significance of the building.

Centennial Plaques

  • Don, Elyse & Stuart Allan
  • Carpenters District Council of Ontario
  • The Family of Sergeant Murray Featherstonhaugh
  • Staff Sergeant Major William Francis
  • The Family of Mary Goffart
  • The Honorary Colonel Blake C. Goldring Family
  • David & Jo-Anne Houghton
  • James G. Massie & Family
  • The T.R. Meighen Family Foundation
  • Robert Quartermain
  • Gary & Joanne Reamey Family
  • The Family of Harold LeRoy Shaw
  • Mike Stollery & Family
  • James Ross Sutherland Sr. Family
  • Louis Vachon

Vimy 2017 Committee

Honorary Patrons
The Right Honourable Kim Campbell, P.C., C.C., O.B.C., Q.C. His Eminence, Thomas Cardinal Collins
The Honourable Judith Guichon, O.B.C. Rt. Hon. Michaëlle Jean, PC, CC, CMM, COM, CD, FRCPSC (hon)
Major-General (Ret’d) Lewis MacKenzie U.E., C.M., C.M.M., M.S.C., O.Ont, C.D. The Right Honourable Paul Martin, P.C., C.C.
The Honourable Stephen McNeil, M.L.A. The Honourable Thomas Mulcair, P.C., M.P.
Vice- Admiral Mark Norman, C.M.M., C.D. The Honourable Doug Phillips
The Honourable Vaughn Solomon Schofield, S.O.M., S.V.M. The Honourable Brad Wall, M.L.A.
The Honourable Kathleen Wynne, M.P.P.
Campaign Co-Chairs
Captain (Ret’d) John P. Carswell, RMC, MBA, CFA General (Ret’d) Rick Hillier, O.C., C.M.M., M.S.C., C.D.
Hon. Michael A. Meighen, QC Mrs. George W. (Helen) Vari, OLH, OONM, LLD, LHD
Education Patrons
John and Pattie Cleghorn


Christopher Alexander Niki Ashton, M.P.
Hugh Brewster Lois Brown, M.P.
BGen. Julian Chapman Hon. Jean Charest, PC, LLB
The Honourable Senator Marie-P. Charette-Poulin Don Cherry
Tony Clement, P.C., M.P. Arthur Dalfen
J. Colin Dodds Wayne Easter, M.P.
The Honourable Senator Art Eggleton The Honourable Ernie Eves, Q.C.
The Honourable Myra A. Freeman, C.M., O.N.S., M.S.M. David Frum
Paul Godfrey, C.M., O.Ont. Paul W. Gooch
Linda Granfield Rudyard Griffiths
Paul Gross Michael Harris, M.P.P.
 Judith Irving Dr. Frederic L.R. Jackman
 HooJung Jones Senator Serge Joyal, PC, OC, OQ
The Honourable Jason Kenney, P.C., M.P. The Honourable Peter Kent, P.C., M.P.
Michael Krstajic Lieutenant-General (Ret’d) Andrew Leslie C.M.M., M.S.C., M.S.M., C.D.
Ben Lobb, M.P. Brian Macdonald, MLA
William A. MacKinnon Phil McColeman, MP
John McDermott Rick Mercer
Larry Miller, M.P. Christine Moore, M.P.
Erin O’Toole, M.P. Gary & Joanne Reamey
Ken Shaw Peter Stoffer, M.P.
David Sweet, M.P. Kenneth M. Tanenbaum
William Thorsell John H. Tory, Q.C., O.Ont.
Dr. Jonathan Vance Roger Vandomme
Robert Wildeboer Jason Wilson
Campaign Cabinet
Casey Adam Antolak William Arvanitis
Bryan Brulotte Don Cranston
Ferg Devins Christopher Hilkene
Michael Hyatt Nigel Kettle
Jim Love Robert McFarlane
Jan Ottens Greg Owen
Charles Pachter Tim Patriquin, C.D.
Walter P.F. Shanly Michael G. Sherrard
Jamie Watt John Wright
Peter Wright